Tags

, , , , , , ,

choco2

I became a HUGE fan of Amy Tan when I was a teenager after reading and watching ‘The Joy Luck Club’. Back when I was at university studying design, I had to create a creative and visual sketchbook about celebrities/well-known people. Amy Tan happened to be one of those ‘people’ in my sketchbook. One of the projects I had to do was called ‘The gift’ project, where I had to be creative and create a gift that I would like to give to a favourite celebrity/well-known person. So I chose Amy Tan. I don’t know how I came up with the chocolate idea. I wanted to make the gift personal (wishing that I could have really given the gift to Amy), and yet, I wanted to do something simple, unique, and fun. When I came up with the chocolate idea, of course I didn’t know how to make ‘real’ chocolates. So I decided to make ‘fake’ chocolates instead. All I needed was plasticine and acrylic paint. Using the plasticine, I started making objects and symbols representing mines and Amy’s lives. After that, I painted/covered the objects and symbols with dark brown acrylic paint. And then I left them to dry. Once dried, I put the fake chocolates in a Ferrero Rocher chocolate box, making them look like real chocolates.

The following day at university, I had to present my project. Before my presentation, many of the other students thought that my chocolates were real. Some even thought of stealing and eating them. choco

The front cover of the sketchbook.piv5

 The background with the writing was copied from one of Amy’s books.piv6

piv3

One of my other favourite well-known person is a famous architect, Daniel Libeskind.piv1

piv4

And of course the legend, Stevie Wonder.piv2

